2016 Fall Conference

Celebrating BABEC’s 20th Anniversary


Speaker Bios

Dr. Bruce Alberts is the the Chancellor’s Leadership Chair in Biochemistry & Biophysics for  Science & Education at UCSF.  He has served as the President of the National Academy of Sciences, and was awarded the National Medal of Science by President Barack Obama in 2014. He was instrumental in developing the landmark National Science Education standards, and is nationally recognized for his strong commitment to the improvement of STEM education.

Dr. Jason Peters is a scientist at UCSF, where he uses CRISPR-based technologies in his search for new antibiotic therapies. He earned B.S. degrees in Biology and Secondary Education and a Ph.D. in Genetics from the University of Wisconsin-Madison. He was awarded the Nat Sternberg Award for the most outstanding Ph.D. thesis in bacterial molecular biology. He recently developed a new CRISPR educational curriculum for SFSU.

Jim Clark is Science Coordinator at San Lorenzo Unified School District, where he is responsible for overseeing the implementation of the Next Generation Science Standards. He was a science teacher at Arroyo High School for 32 years, and was awarded Teacher of the Year in 2008 for Alameda County.  Jims serves on the reading committee for the NGSS Framework in California, and is advising BABEC as we update our curricula.

Dr. Michelle LaFevre-Bernt teaches Biology, Biotechnology and Chemistry at San Marin High School, and is also developing a Biotech Academy for the California Career Pathway Trust.

Jason Nicholson teaches AP Chemistry and Biotechnology at Monterey High School.  Now entering his fourth year of teaching, he started the MHS Biotechnology Program from scratch.

SE3D is a local education company that has developed a portable 3D BioPrinter.  They provide ready-to-use bioreagent kits designed for both science classroom and laboratory needs.

Photo Highlights